Although Florida law makes it mandatory for anyone with a registered car, truck, van, or SUV to carry auto insurance, the Insurance Information Institute (III) reports that nearly one in four drivers is uninsured. This does not make driving without insurance right; but, it does mean that if you are an uninsured motorist in Florida, you are not alone.
While auto insurance obviously comes at a cost, it does have its benefits. With Florida’s mandatory minimum insurance coverage, insured drivers are entitled to up to $10,000 in reimbursement coverage for their medical expenses, as well as $10,000 in property damage liability coverage. These benefits are not “automatic” – you still have to claim them and go through the insurance process, but they are “no-fault” benefits that are available regardless of who caused your collision.
But, if you don’t have auto insurance, how can you seek to recover financially for your accident-related injuries and losses?
Pursuing a Claim Against the Other Driver’s Insurance Policy
In a typical case, you will need to pursue a claim against the other driver’s insurance policy. This requires proof that the other driver was at fault – though 100 percent fault is not required. In fact, under Florida law, you can seek compensation from another driver’s insurance company even if you were more at fault than the other driver.
So, how do you prove that someone else is to blame for your car accident injuries?
You will need to hire an experienced legal team to conduct a thorough investigation. At Brian D. Guralnick Injury Lawyers, we regularly represent auto accident victims in West Palm Beach and throughout Florida, and we are available 24/7 to help crash victims protect their rights. If the driver who hit you was distracted, drunk, or driving negligently, we will work with a team of trusted experts to uncover evidence that we can use to help you seek rightful compensation.
Will I Get in Trouble for Driving Without Insurance?
If you are caught driving without insurance in Florida, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles can suspend your license until you provide proof of insurance and pay a reinstatement fee of $150 (for a first-time violation). However, if you have been seriously injured, the costs of dealing with your injuries – including medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering – will far exceed the costs of complying with Florida’s auto insurance requirements. As a result, it will most likely be in your best interests to report the accident to the police (and you may have a legal obligation to do so), even if it means being caught driving while uninsured.
That said, before you do anything that could have legal consequences, you need to speak to an attorney. For a free, confidential consultation, Brian D. Guralnick Injury Lawyers today.
Schedule a Free Consultation at Brian D. Guralnick Injury Lawyers
If you have been injured in a car accident in Florida, the legal team at Brian D. Guralnick Injury Lawyers can help you Demand More® for your accident-related losses. To receive VIP treatment backed by decades of legal experience, call us at 561-202-6673.
Disclaimer: The information in this blog is not intended, and must not be taken, as legal advice on any particular set of facts or circumstances. If you need advice on specific legal issues, please consult with a licensed Personal Injury attorney.
Were you or a loved one injured in an accident?
The law offices of Brian D. Guralnick help Florida residents and tourists seek compensation and Demand More? for their injuries.