Florida’s “no-fault” car insurance system prevents relatively minor auto accident cases from going to court. Every driver must purchase Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance covering at least $10,000 in personal injury expenses arising from the driver’s own injuries (with a 20 percent deductible). Florida drivers are not legally required to purchase insurance covering their liability to parties whom they injure – each party pays for his or her own injuries. If the no-fault system applies to your accident, you are not allowed to file a lawsuit or a claim against the at-fault party’s insurance policy. Florida’s no-fault system does not apply if your injuries are serious enough. To exit the no-fault system, your injuries must be:
- involve permanent scarring or disfigurement; or
- involve permanent loss of an important bodily function.
Once you exit the system, you may file a lawsuit against the at-fault party or a third-party claim against his or her insurance policy (if applicable).
Were you or a loved one injured in an accident?
The law offices of Brian D. Guralnick help Florida residents and tourists seek compensation and Demand More? for their injuries.